Configuration information that can be retained for each user is saved in user profiles. This information includes the desktop arrangement, personal program groups, program items in the personal program groups, screen colors, screen savers, network connections, printer connections, mouse settings, window size and position, and so on. When a user logs on, the system loads the user's profile and configures the environment according to the information in the profile.


Comparison of Windows Profiles
Local User Profiles
Mandatory User Profiles Roaming User Profiles
A local user profile is created the first time that a user logs on to a computer. The profile is stored on the computer's local hard disk. Changes made to the local user profile are specific to the user and to the computer on which the changes are made.

A mandatory user profile is a type of profile that administrators can use to specify settings for users. Only system administrators can make changes to mandatory user profiles. Changes made by users to desktop settings are lost when the user logs off.

A roaming user profile is a copy of the local profile that is copied to, and stored on, a server share. This profile is downloaded to any computer that a user logs onto on a network. Changes made to a roaming user profile are synchronized with the server copy of the profile when the user logs off. The advantage of roaming user profiles is that users do not need to create a profile on each computer they use on a network.



Last modified: Monday, 17 April 2023, 9:54 AM